Six-member federal cabinet takes oath in Islamabad

A six-member caretaker federal cabinet was sworn in at a ceremony held at the President House, Islamabad on Tuesday.

President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to the newly inducted members of the cabinet, who will assist the caretaker prime minister, retired Justice Nasirul Mulk, in managing the country till elections are over.

Those who took oath today include the State Bank of Pakistan’s former governor Dr Shamshad Akhtar, Roshan Khurshid, Barrister Ali Zafar, former ambassador to the United Nations Abdullah Hussain Haroon, Azam Khan and Muhammad Yusuf Shaikh, Radio Pakistan reported.

The ceremony was attended by the prime minister, along with other dignitaries. The caretaker cabinet will serve until a new government is elected through the 2018 general elections scheduled for July 25.


Abdullah Hussain Haroon: Ministry of Foreign Affairs and National Security Division. Additional portfolios: Ministry of Defence and Ministry of Defence Production.

Dr Shamshad Akhtar: Ministry of Finance, Revenue and Economic Affairs, Ministry of Statistics and Ministry of Planning, Development and Reforms. Additional portfolios: Ministry of Commerce and Textile and Ministry of Industries and Production.

Azam Khan: Ministry of Interior, Capital Administration and Development Division and Ministry of Narcotics Control. Additional portfolios: Ministry of Inter-Provincial Coordination.

Syed Ali Zafar Shah: Ministry of Law and Justice, Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs, Ministry of Information, Broadcasting, National History and Literary Heritage.

Mohammad Yusuf Shaikh: Ministry of Federal Education and Professional Training. Additional portfolios: Ministry of National Health Services, Regulations and Coordination and Ministry of Religious Affairs and Inter-Faith Harmony.

Roshan Khursheed Bharucha: Ministry of Human Rights, Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan and Ministry of States and Frontier Regions.

Source: Dawn

Recommended For You

Leave a Comment